Topic of the Week 7: Public Relations Blogs

07/10/2010 § 2 Comments

This week, our task was to look at a PR blog and read at least a dozen posts. I read Paul Young’s PR blog, and have to say that I really did enjoy it. Paul is an Australian who now lives in New York, and works with digital marketing and blogs on social media quite frequently. Most of the posts I read were either videos on a charity he supports or pertained to social media.

I really love how his site didn’t feel like a “PR” site. What I mean by that is that it wasn’t just tips or campaigns. It was personal but also brought in elements that a PR practitioner or a student would find interesting. The social media posts were mostly funny but it was engaging. It taught me that PR doesn’t have to be so straight forward and informative. You can gain knowledge and information through humour and posts that might not be though provoking. Young also focuses on digital marketing, which of course is marketing through digital outlets. This covers social media and other digital outlets that provide a platform for companies and clients to come together to celebrate and expand the brand they are marketing.

I think PR Practitioners can benefit from reading blogs because they expand your knowledge of PR. Sometimes it is easy to get caught up in what you are doing and focusing in on only what you yourself has to work on, but there are so many other things going on in the PR world. By reading blogs you can catch up on what’s going on and maybe can expand your own creativity.

 

§ 2 Responses to Topic of the Week 7: Public Relations Blogs

  • I really enjoyed reading your post about Paul Young’s PR blog. I did take a look at his blog and agree that it is really awesome that his site does not feel like a typical “PR” site. I enjoyed reading a little of his post and noticed the same thing as you, that it was engaging; however it was not overbearing, or too intense. I think that reading blogs is beneficial because it teaches you to think outside of what you typically would think, read or write about. I enjoyed reading your blog and I think I would enjoy following Paul Young’s blog on a regular basis as well.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Topic of the Week 7: Public Relations Blogs at Fancy Free Public Relations.

meta

