GLEE! Family Friendly or Too Risque?

27/10/2010 § 3 Comments

“I’m gonna say this as nice as I can, but you look like a sad clown hooker.”- Finn Hudson, Hairography

I have to say before I write this glee-tastic pr connection that I am probably the biggest Gleek in the world. I follow every actor on Twitter, and sad to admit but I follow their characters as well. Yes, Sue Sylvester is on Twitter! How else will I know how Sue C’s it? I subscribe to every website that provides sneak peaks and leaked music just so I can be ahead of the game. I own all of the music AND every episode to date. I re-watch every episode probably 15 times and it is highly likely that I could do a one man show of an episode word for word. I’ve compiled a list of my top 100 quotes from the first season and working on my list for the second season and am guilty of making a mock video of Run Joey Run (can be viewed on Youtube, but you are going to have to find it yourself, it is too embarrassing to link) and even attempted to audition for a roll when online auditions were held this past spring.

Now that I have officially freaked everyone out who is reading this, I can get to the point of this PR connection. For those of you who aren’t emersed in the GLEE world, Glee has been caught up in some heated debates following the release of Cory Monteith, Lea Michelle, and Diana Agron’s photos for the current issue of GQ . All kinds of crazy press coverage is swarming these photos. I would give you a description of the photos but I figure I would let you see them for yourselves and you can suss out what all the fuss is about.

Now, if you haven’t figured out why viewers of this hit TV show are upset, I’ll spell it out for you. They are racy and don’t really evoke that family friendly feeling that Glee is said to be focusing in on. Parents have raised complaints and have threatened to not tune in on Tuesday nights to watch these amazing actors give show stopping performances, raise awareness of current and controversial issues, tug at your heart strings with powerful story lines, and cram some amazing one line ziggers that have you begging for more. Oh no, all of that is going to be cut out because some of the most popular adults (and yes I do mean adults, Cory Monteith is 27 years old for crying out loud) do a photo shoot for a magazine.

These photos aren’t real life images. They are playing off the character’s that theseactors portray. It is Glee 2.o or Glee with an added edge. I know that the issue is that because Glee is a family show, these images should never have been produced. These actors are role models and need to be careful what children could be exposed to. But I beg to ask the question, why is your child looking at GQ anyways? If anything this is just a fun and flirty expression for these budding actors. Why not let up on them a bit?

From a PR stand point I can see how negative press could be bad for the show. If enough people are upset it could potentially harm ratings and also the popularity of these actors themselves. Many celebrities have fallen from grace because of the scandalous things they have done, but I don’t think a few pictures that are just a bit sexed up is harmful. This didn’t stop Diana Agron, or Quinn Fabray for my fellow Gleeks, from issuing an apology. While I find it very endearing of her to do such a gesture, I didn’t find it necessary.

Here is what Agron had to say:

In the land of Madonna, Britney, Miley, Gossip Girl, other public figures and shows that have pushed the envelope and challenged the levels of comfort in their viewers and fans … we are not the first. Now, in perpetuating the type of images that evoke these kind of emotions, I am sorry. If you are hurt or these photos make you uncomfortable, it was never our intention. And if your eight-year-old has a copy of our GQ cover in hand, again I am sorry. But I would have to ask, how on earth did it get there?

If I were her publicist I would probably would have found it hard to decide whether or not to issue an apology. While trying to soothe disgruntled people is an admirable quality, trying to please everyone isn’t. Also, when you don’t have anything to apologise for, it can be redundant. Tough call. What would you do if you were the publicist? The Actor?

Just some things to think about. And that’s how Jess C’s it 🙂

§ 3 Responses to GLEE! Family Friendly or Too Risque?

  • sammooty says:

    I loved that you did a PR connection on this topic (not in a creepy way). Personally I love Glee. Every week it’s what I look forward to watching. When I first heard about these photos I thought: “how bad can they be” and then I saw them. In my opinion they are grow ups. It’s their decision if they want to do it. I know that it looks bad for their younger viewers but why would anyone under the age of 18 need to look at these pictures? So personally I cannot agree with them more. For them I think they are okay, as long as my nieces and nephews will not see the photos.

  • […] I found this article on Mandee Winter’s blog. […]

  • As you know, I myself love Glee. If someone asks me to do something on Tuesday night, I usually tell them that I can’t (I know kind of sad, but I am devoted). Personally, when I saw these photos I was a little disapointed but I wasn’t as shocked as the rest of the world seemed to be. I don’t think any of these actors needed to issue an apology. I mean have you seen some of the photo spreads that actors do know a days? This is harmless compared to that. I think people just see this three as wholesome teenagers when in reality they are grown adults.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading GLEE! Family Friendly or Too Risque? at Fancy Free Public Relations.

meta

