The Hills Are Alive With The Sound Of… Oprah?

29/10/2010 § 1 Comment

Yesterday was a really exciting day. Oprah did a Sound of Music special for its 45 Anniversary, and more exciting was that the entire cast was to be on the show, something that hasn’t happened since the promotion of the film 45 years ago. Being a Sound of Music fan since before I can even remember I was elated. The Sound of Music plays a major part in my childhood. Julie Andrews was my hero. Mary Poppins being my favourite Disney movie, my mother exposed me to her films pretty early on.

I can remember being glued to the television when The Sound of Music would be popped into the VCR (way before DVDs were around) and when “I am 16 going on 17” would start  I would drag my baby sister over to play the part of Rolfe, so I could reenact Liesl’s part. I dreamed of being 16 so I could have a boy sing to me in the rain and I could hop over the benches because that would definitely be the sign that I was in love.

It is so amazing how after 45 years this film is still being praised and loved by so many. With Oprah in her last season, it was a great PR move for not only Oprah but for the film as well. Both could benefit from the fans of both parties and it really evoked a positive and happy atmosphere, one that comes from both the show and the film. I think having a reunion of the cast after 45 years was a brilliant move. It showed how much this film is still alive to so many and really reminded us of a happier and simpler time.  The cast was on Oprah to promote the reissuing of the DVD. The film has been digitally remastered for the 45th anniversary as well as being sold as a Blue Ray high definition DVD. A 45th Anniversary box set with great behind the scenes footage and other cool little features for avid fans is being sold as well. Like with any Oprah special, the audience received the box set.  Am I jealous. Just a bit.

Watching this episode really make me want to break open my Sound of Music DVD and relive my childhood and sing to the top of my lungs “THE HILLS ARE ALIVE WITH THE SOUND OF MUSIC!”

§ One Response to The Hills Are Alive With The Sound Of… Oprah?

  • jgjonespr says:

    I wish I would have seen this! I might just look it up after this 🙂 I absolutely love the sound of music. Julie Andrews was my childhood hero as well. I always thought she was so charming and lovely. I am a big fan of musicals, so Sound of Music fits perfectly into just what I love. I definitely think it was a smart move waiting for the cast to be reunited publicly for 45 years. It makes it into an even bigger deal, and more people pay attention.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Hills Are Alive With The Sound Of… Oprah? at Fancy Free Public Relations.

meta

