The Social Network

31/10/2010 § 6 Comments

The Social Network, in case you haven’t heard of it, is a film by Aaron Sorkin, that tells the tale of how Facebook was created and the lawsuits that ensued after Facebook was created. The screenplay was based off of the book The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich. None of the key players of Facebook were involved in the film project however the co-founder of Facebook, Edwardo Saverin was a consultant for the Mezrich book.

I was truly excited when I heard about this film. Being an avid “Facebooker,” (I think I just made up that word) I really wanted to know how it came about and know the back story of this brilliant computer geek, Mark Zuckerberg.

The film begins in a courtroom, where Zuckerberg, played by Jesse Eisenberg, is being questioned. From there it is a series of flashbacks to show how Facebook was created. It all started with Zuckerberg trying to get back at the girl who dumped him. Zuckerberg was attending Harvard at the time, and the school houses offered a thing called The Face Book where housemates could find information on each other. Zuckerberg decided to hack The Face Book of every Harvard house and create a thing called FaceMash, where Harvard boys could rate two Harvard girls and pick the one who was more attractive.

This started all the legal issues for Zuckerberg, as he had hacked into the Harvard system and that, of course, was illegal. Without giving away the entire story, Zuckerberg creates Facebook, and after hitting it big, gets sued by various people; old college mates who said it was their idea and even by Facebook’s co-founder, Edwardo Saverin. Why does he sue his best friend? You’ll have to watch to find out.

This film has a great cast. As I mentioned Jesse Eisenberg plays Mark Zuckerberg, Justin Timberlake is the Napster founder, Sean Parker, and Andrew Garfield is Facebook co-founder, Edwardo Saverin. For anyone who is a computer geek, or a social networking feign, or even just interested in hearing an inspiring story that makes you feel like you could invent anything, this film is for you.

From a technical standpoint this film is brilliantly made. The camera angles really offer something to the film and the lighting is incredible. Everything is really starch and grey. It enhances the technical elements of the plot. Also, the film is dark and grainy in some scenes, which really adds depth to the film and creates the feeling that this story isn’t just one about a boy who hits it big. There is deception, lies, and elements of revenge.

This film really does have it all. I would recommend this to everyone.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Social_Network

§ 6 Responses to The Social Network

  • I have been wanting to see “The Social Network” but have not had the chance to get out to see it yet. However, after reading your review on the film, I have an even deeper desire to see it. Being a Facebook user myself, I think it would be great to understand the background and what the founders have had to endure on their journey to creating one of the most used social networking websites in the world. I look forward to seeing it, and I don’t think that I will be disappointed. Thanks for the recommendation!

  • whitness07 says:

    The Social Network was an amazing movie. Like you, as soon as I heard that there was a movie about Facebook coming to theaters I was excited to go watch it. The storyline was so good and I wasn’t bored for one second during the movie. It was funny that Mark Zuckerberg was interviewed and asked what he thought about the movie and he shared that he thought it was funny that Hollywood always makes movies however they want to. He said that they made Facebook seem like it was created in order to attempt to get back at an ex-girlfriend when in reality there was no girl that he was trying to get back at. It was still an awesome movie and I’d recommend it to all my friends.

  • Comments « says:

    […] Title & Author: Social Networking; Jessica […]

  • jgjonespr says:

    I absolutely loved The Social Network! I thought everything from the actors to the movie makers did a wonderful job. The movie taught me a lot about the history of Facebook and the creators behind it. It definitely made me look at facebook in a whole new light. Right when I got home after seeing it, I looked up all of the “real” creators and read their bios. I even looked up their facebooks.It made the movie all so much real to me. It was a great movie and taught many about this little thing called “facebook”.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Social Network at Fancy Free Public Relations.

meta

