Tubeless Scott Toilet Paper

31/10/2010 § 4 Comments

The Kimberly-Clark company who is known for their household products, has just announced that Scott Toilet Paper is now going to be offered without the cardboard tube at Walmart and Sam’s club throughout the Northeast. This is a great day for all of those who are “going green.” This new tube free toilet paper will cut down on the trash and will save money as well.

“The 17 billion toilet paper tubes produced annually in the USA account for 160 million pounds of trash, according to Kimberly-Clark estimates, and could stretch more than a million miles placed end-to-end. That’s from here to the moon and back — twice. Most consumers toss, rather than recycle, used tubes, says Doug Daniels, brand manager at Kimberly-Clark. ‘We found a way to bring innovation to a category as mature as bath tissue,’ he says,” (USA Today).

Those are staggering numbers. Environmentally aware customers are probably rejoicing because of this new invention and I’m sure Kimberly-Clark are partying with them as this a great way to generate business. This is a great PR strategy for this company, especially since they are the first to offer this new toilet tissue. People will flock to by Scott Tissue because of the environmental positives as well as the feature of being able to use every single sheet of toilet paper.

According to Kimberly-Clark,”the holes in the rolls aren’t perfectly round. But they do fit over TP spindles and come with this promise: Even the last piece of toilet paper will be usable — without glue stuck on it,” (USA Today).

I’m excited about this tubeless paper. Are you?

 

 

Source: USA Today

§ 4 Responses to Tubeless Scott Toilet Paper

  • afurmage says:

    I was not aware of tube-free toilet paper, but thanks to this blog post, I now am. I’m not an environmentalist, but I do find this new invention pretty cool. I am not surprised by the staggering amount of waste produced by just by cardboard toilet paper tubes. My suite seems to use a new roll almost every day. (I would know because I’m the only one who seems to know how to change it). Labeling this toilet paper “Naturals” was a great advertising/PR strategy in order to appeal to those who deeply care about the environment. Hopefully this great idea catches on in the rest of the toilet paper producing community. I would have to say, I’m excited as well.

  • […] I commented on “Tubeless Scott Toilet Paper” by Andrea […]

  • You wouldn’t really think that toliet paper could go green, but then Scott goes and suprises us. The tubeless toliet paper is genius. Toliet paper is necessity and there really isn’t anyway to change that. Even the people who live the most green lives probably still use toliet paper. However, Scott’s new inovation has given those people another option. The only thing I would say is that Scott needs to market it a little more. I watch more television that a person probably should and I have never heard of this new product. I think a commercial would do great things and take Scott’s sales to the next level.

  • jgjonespr says:

    Hey Jessica! That is really interesting. Where did you find this out? I never really thought that toilet paper could NOT have the tube inside of it. But I guess life is just filled with surprises. I wonder if other toilet paper companies will do the same soon. It seems like a great way to protect the environment and go green – rather then wasting cardboard on something people just end up throwing away. I commend Scott for their creativity and desire to go “greener”.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tubeless Scott Toilet Paper at Fancy Free Public Relations.

meta

