Thank Goodness for PRSA

02/12/2010 § 4 Comments

So I am graduating in two weeks. I don’t want to talk about it. It is scary and really stressful. Honestly, I don’t recommend it. Okay, that was a bit of a joke but seriously, with no car, job, funds, or home to my name, I’m feeling the heat. My parents so kindly told me I am not allowed to come home after graduation. Now, I know that sounds harsh but they mean well. They want me to make it in the world and to apply myself. They want me to get out there and try, and if I fail then they’ll be there, but until then, I am basically screwed.

So the job hunt ensued. I can’t tell you how many job applications I have turned in. I wish there was a job that paid me to fill out job applications because I am now highly qualified for it. Job hunting is frustrating, especially in such a competitive field such as journalism and public relations. Getting responses whether it be yes OR no is difficult as well, but I must say that PRSA.org has really been helpful to me.

PRSA.org is a website devoted to PR and they have a section where they post jobs related to the media field. I spent hours on this site and I can honestly say that i applied to every job that I was qualified for. Yes, I went through all 300 and some odd listings in my desired fields and applied.

Here’s hoping I get a job! Thanks PRSA for your help!

§ 4 Responses to Thank Goodness for PRSA

  • I definately feel your pain. Graduating college is by far the most exciting but terrifing thing that I have ever faced. You feel like you fighting a loosing battle. However, it is great when you find a website that is seeminly tailor made for us who are graduating. I am definately going to have to go look at the listings on PRSA. Thanks for the information! Good Luck!!

  • jgjonespr says:

    Hey Jessica! I definitely understand. Being a graduating senior myself, Im starting to see “the real world” sneaking up on me. Bills, jobs, student loans, etc are no fun to deal with. It is great to know there is a website that can help you in what you want to do. If only there was a website like that for every career. I know you will be fine, and end up with one excellent job! Who knows maybe you will end up traveling across the world (like we previously discussed!) Either way, I know you will be just fine. 🙂

  • […] Hyperlink: Jessica Nguyen […]

  • New Eyes says:

    Jessica I know exactly how you feel. I am graduating in December as well and I am extremely stressed out. I have not even started the job search yet. I know it is hard to find a job right now but I know there is something out there for everyone. Thanks for the information you gave about PRSA. I will check it out.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thank Goodness for PRSA at Fancy Free Public Relations.

meta

